EXIST announce new album Hijacking the Zeitgeist

US progressive metal band EXIST has announced their upcoming fourth album, Hijacking the Zeitgeist, due for release via Prosthetic Records on April 12. Alongside the album announcement EXIST has shared the lead single and music video, Blue Light Infinite, directed by vocalist and guitarist Max Phelps (also of Cynic and Death To All).


Speaking on the album announcement, Max Phelps (vocals and guitar) comments: „We’re very excited to finally announce the release of Hijacking The Zeitgeist after sitting on the finished record for quite some time. I think I can speak for all of us in saying that this was overall the most fun we’ve had making an album with EXIST.

„Musically I think it represents a new era for the band with both a heavier sound and much more compact arrangements. Maybe it’s fair to say that it’s akin to our “Permanent Waves” or “Moving Pictures” (for the Rush nerds, like us) in terms of the bands trajectory from the last few albums. We can’t wait for listeners to hear this album and are especially excited to perform these songs live. We’re also proud of the beautiful artwork painted for us by Sebastian Jerke.“

Of Blue Light Infinite, Phelps adds: „Blue Light Infinite is both our album opener and first single. It acts as the perfect setup to establish the context of Hijacking The Zeitgeist. The song clocks in at less than four minutes (historically short for us) yet still showcases the variety of styles and dynamics that can be found throughout the album.

„Lyrically the song is about the addictive and deceptive nature of our obsession with technology. The music video is meant to illustrate this, showing the parallel stories of four characters becoming obsessed with different subjects and going further and further down their respective niche rabbit holes toward despair.“

EXIST’s latest full-length sees the group expand upon their established dichotomy of extreme metal technicality and sanguine atmospherics with an intentionally more concise approach to songwriting, resulting in the most direct and emphatic album of their 14 year career.

Similarly to 2020’s Egoiista, EXIST took on a keen co-production role for Hijacking the Zeitgeist as recording sessions commenced in early 2022, with the band emphasising a collaborative approach to the songs arrangements. Drum co-production was handled by John Douglass (Mr. Bungle, Entheos and The Contortionist) before vocals were handled by Mike Semesky in the winter.

Hijacking the Zeitgeist’s sonic heft isn’t without its diaphanous counterpoints, as Phelps and new addition Charles Eron (guitar and synths) craft deceptively complex interplay on album high points in Thief of Joy (featuring Sanjay Kumar of Inferi and Wormhole), Blue Light Infinite and soaring closer Window to the AllEXIST’s sonorous sonic landscape is bolstered by immersive rhythmic lock-ins between Alex Weber (bass and vocals) and Brody Smith (drums), that shine in Anup Sastry’s mix and Kris Crummett’s mastering work.

At the core of Hijacking the Zeitgeist lies a multifaceted exploration of algorithmic rabbit holes, conspiratorial paranoia, and the universal traits that lie within humanity – these cautionary tales are tied together in striking detail with album art by Sebastian Jerke. EXIST treats both the allure and perils of both digital mazes and the real world, with equal parts wide eyed awe and horror.